one day at a time . . .

Waiting for the call…

It’s only been 3 weeks since I’ve been listed, but it’s amazing how I just continue to decline. I’ve been on several different IVs for about 3 weeks now. I’ve been bumped up on the list for my blood type and I’m next in line for my size. I never thought I’d move up the list so fast, but I’m at the point where each day is such a struggle. Breathing has become so difficult. It’s so hard to just get out of the house for pulmonary rehab. I can remember when I used to say I don’t ever want to have to have a transplant. But, getting to this point, I understand that it’s now my only hope. I feel like a shell of a person, just surviving day to day waiting for the phone to ring. My quality of life really sucks.

I hope that call comes soon…

I hope I don’t reject…

I hope I live for many years and learn to enjoy the simple act of breathing…

I want to learn how to run… to move… to just be free…

I think of my unselfish donor daily. It’s weird waiting for someone to pass on, but I keep telling myself that they would have passed regardless of my need for a transplant. They we just unselfish enough to save the lives of several strangers while their family and friends are mourning their passing.

Until next time…

 

Comments on: "Waiting for the call…" (2)

  1. Mike Ceglarski said:

    Hang in there. I know it’s tough right now, but it is well worth it when that day comes that you are able to run again. I’ve been in your situation and the transplant changed my life more than I could have ever imagined.

    I’ll keep you in my prayers.

  2. Lisa (Philly) said:

    Many prayers for you during this difficult…

Leave a comment